The STEP BY STEP: Shoe.Design through the Ages exhibition is based on the German Leather Museum’s unique shoe collection and is firmly centered around shoes, their design, and their cultural significance.

Historical exhibits are deliberately combined with items from the second half of the 20th or the 21st centuries in order to highlight and reveal continuities and changes in the development of shoes and shoe design.

In a total of eight thematic areas, basic types such as sandals, slippers, low shoes and boots are explained and questions raised: How does a shoe develop? Since when have we distinguished between right and left shoes? What materials are used to make shoes? Why do we recognize designer shoes today? What is the cultural significance of certain types of shoes? How have heels developed and what are the erotic connotations of specific models?

More than 150 selected shoes or pairs of shoes cast light on the breadth of the collection and trace the cultural history of footwear to impressive effect. Alongside sandals that are more than 2,000 years old from Peru, Syrian elevated sandals for the hammam from the 19th century, or salmon-leather boots from the Nanai, there are countless shoe creations by renowned designers such as Beth Levine, Roger Vivier, Vivienne Westwood and Jimmy Choo. 

Shoes are – as the exhibition strikingly demonstrates – far more than functional and fashionable cladding for feet. Above all, they represent a protective item of clothing, a status symbol, a fashion item, or a political statement by the wearer as presented in the show.

Accompanying the exhibition is an extensive publication from arnoldsche Art Publishers (available in German only). This is available for purchase on site in the museum or can be ordered via e-mail at info@ledermuseum.de. 

engllaura_brichta_copyright-072.jpg
Exhibition view, Shoe.Designs change? © DLM, L. Brichta

This extensive exhibition has been facilitated by the generous sponsorship of the Dr. Marschner Foundation.

eng_dms_logo_4c_100p.png

Vor dem Hintergrund der einzigartigen Schuhsammlung des Deutschen Ledermuseums entfaltet sich mit STEP BY STEP: Schuh.Design im Wandel eine Ausstellung rund um das Thema Schuhe, ihre Gestaltung und kulturelle Bedeutung. 

Historische Exponate werden bewusst mit Exemplaren aus der zweiten Hälfte des 20. bzw. des 21. Jahrhunderts kombiniert, um sowohl Kontinuitäten als auch Brüche in der Entwicklung des Schuhs wie des Schuhdesigns zu akzentuieren und aufzuzeigen.

In insgesamt acht Themenbereichen werden Grundformen wie Sandale, Pantoffel, Halbschuh und Stiefel erklärt und Fragen gestellt: Wie entsteht ein Schuh? Seit wann unterscheiden wir zwischen einem rechten und einem linken Schuh? Aus welchen Materialien wird ein Schuh hergestellt? Warum kennen wir heute Designer*innen-Schuhe? Welche kulturelle Bedeutung haben einzelne Schuhmodelle? Wie hat sich der Absatz entwickelt oder worin besteht der erotische Reiz von bestimmten Modellen?

Über 150 ausgewählte Schuhe oder Schuhpaare veranschaulichen die Spannbreite der Sammlung und zeichnen eindrucksvoll die Kulturgeschichte der Fußbekleidung nach. Neben über zweitausend Jahre alten Sandalen aus Peru, syrischen Stelzsandalen für das Hammam aus dem 19. Jahrhundert oder Lachsleder-Stiefel der Nanai sind zahlreiche Schuhkreationen von namhaften Designer*innen wie etwa Beth Levine, Roger Vivier, Vivienne Westwood oder Jimmy Choo zu sehen. 

Schuhe sind – das zeigt die Ausstellung eindrücklich – weit mehr als funktionale und modische Bekleidung des Fußes. Sie stehen vor allem als schützendes Kleidungsstück, Statussymbol, Fashion Item oder politisches Statement ihrer Träger*innen im Fokus der Schau.

Begleitend zur Ausstellung erschien in der arnoldschen Art Publishers eine umfangreiche Publikation. Diese können Sie vor Ort im Museum erwerben oder über info@ledermuseum.de bestellen.  

Ausstellungsansicht, Schuh.Design im Wandel?
Ausstellungsansicht, Schuh.Design im Wandel? ©DLM, L. Brichta

Ermöglicht wurde die umfassende Ausstellung durch die großzügige Förderung der Dr. Marschner Stiftung.

dms_logo_4c_100p.png