The publications by the German Leather Museum can be purchased on site in the museum or ordered via e-mail at info@ledermuseum.de.

Prices are exclusive of delivery costs.
Deliveries within Germany will be on account; for deliveries abroad we ask for payment in advance.

TSATSAS past present future

Since 2012, Esther and Dimitrios Tsatsas have been creating leather bags and accessories that deviate from fashion’s established design concepts and take a new approach free of aesthetic limitations. With the exhibition and publication TSATSAS. past, present, future, published to mark the TSATSAS brand’s 10th anniversary, the Deutsches Ledermuseum showcases the work of this internationally successful designer label that is still produced locally in Offenbach am Main.

Publication on the exhibition, 2022, edited by Inez Florschütz, Deutsches Ledermuseum, texts by David Chipperfield, Yoko Choy, Markus Frenzl, Dieter Rams, Esther and Dimitrios Tsatsas, German/English, 200 p., 122 color and 18 black-and-white illustrations, 34,- €, ISBN 978-3-89790-655-6, Hardcover

STEP BY STEP: Shoe.Design through the Ages

Shoes are far more than functional and fashionable cladding for feet. Alongside the design of various shoe types over centuries, their roles as a protective item of clothing, a status symbol, a fashion item or a political statement for the wearer form the focus of the exhibition and the catalog.

Exhibition catalog, 2019, ed. by Inez Florschütz in cooperation with Maureen Ogrocki and Leonie Wiegand, texts by Inez Florschütz, Katharina Lippe, Maureen Ogrocki, Stefanie Rohde & Leonie Wiegand, 288 pages, 320 color illustrations, € 34.00, ISBN 978-3-89790-581-8, soft cover with flaps

(available in German only)

LEATHER.WORLD.HISTORY.

100 YEARS OF THE GERMAN LEATHER MUSEUM (1917–2017)

The catalog marks the 100th anniversary of the museum’s foundation, presenting highlights of its extraordinary collection in their cultural-historical contexts and recounting intriguing tales about their former owners or how they came to be in the museum. Alongside texts on the history of the museum and its collection, it also includes photographs from the extensive archive, as well as a glossary for leather.

Exhibition catalog, 2017, ed. by Inez Florschütz, texts by Vanessa Didion, Inez Florschütz, Andreas Hansert, Kirsten Pick, & Maria Anna Tappeiner, 276 pages, 120 color and 149 b/w illustrations, € 34.00, ISBN 978-3-7356-0391-3, soft cover with flaps

(available in German only)

ROGER VIVIER. FOOTWEAR

For the first time, the German Leather Museum presents 40 prototypes from Roger Vivier’s ‘wild years’, the 1930s, which illustrate the life’s work of a master shoemaker who left his mark on 20th-century shoe design the world over.

Exhibition catalog, 2014, ed. by the German Leather Museum, texts by Rosita Nenno, Christian Rathke, Inge Specht et al., 106 pages, 94 illustrations, € 25.00, ISBN: 978-3-9815440-2-2, accompanying booklet with translations of the texts (English/Dutch) € 5.00



A RACE AGAINST TRANSIENCE

Taking 20 selected specimen cases, the restorers at the German Leather Museum shed light on their activities and offer interested readers an exciting look behind the scenes of the German Leather Museum.

Exhibition catalog, 2012, ed. by the German Leather Museum, texts by Nina Frankenhauser, Jutta Göpfrich & Katharina Mackert, German/English, 156 pages, 135 illustrations, € 25.00, ISBN: 978-3-9815440-0-8


POWER – LEATHER – LUST: Leather Powers Lust. Hidden codes of leather clothing in the 20th century

The catalog traces the path of leather from functional clothing to a means of expression of military might, to a fashion accessory for roleplay in the gothic and bondage scene, with a foray into the pictorial world of photography.

Exhibition catalog, 2008, ed. by Rosita Nenno, Christian Rathke, German Leather Museum, German/English, 160 pages, 150 illustrations, € 25.00, ISBN: 978-30-00-024422-3

LUST FOR LEATHER. MASTERPIECES OF APPLIED ART FROM THE GERMAN LEATHER MUSEUM IN OFFENBACH

This coffee-table book illustrates leatherworking spanning a period of around 800 years – from book covers and coffrets from the Middle Ages to chests, ornamental shields and gilded leather wall coverings, to modern-day handbags.

Exhibition catalog, 2006, ed. by the German Leather Museum, texts by Rosita Nenno & Christian Rathke, 252 pages, 133 illustrations, € 20.00, ISBN: 978-3938025673

(available in German only)

Die Publikationen des Deutschen Ledermuseums können Sie vor Ort im Museum erwerben oder über info@ledermuseum.de bestellen.

Die Preise verstehen sich zzgl. Versandkosten.
Die Lieferung im Inland erfolgt auf Rechnung, bei Lieferungen ins Ausland bitten wir um Vorauszahlung.

DER HANDSCHUH Mehr als ein Mode-Accessoire

Mit DER HANDSCHUH: Mehr als ein Mode-Accessoire zeichnet das Deutsche Ledermuseum die vielfältige Kulturgeschichte eines oft unterschätzten Accessoires nach. Anhand ausgewählter Exponate, von wärmenden Fäustlingen der Inuit, Boxhandschuhen, Einweghandschuhen aus Gummi oder Latex über Pontifikalhandschuhe bis hin zu Modellen namhafter Designer*innen wie Marc Jacobs und Dries Van Noten, wird der Facettenreichtum dieses Kleidungsstücks aufgezeigt.

Publikation zur Ausstellung, 2022, hg. von Inez Florschützin Zusammenarbeit mit Leonie Wiegand, Deutsches Ledermuseum, Texte von Leonie Wiegand, Einleitung von Inez Florschütz, Vowrwort von Madeleine Häse, deutsch/englisch, 200 S., 198 Farb- und 46 Schwarz-Weißabbildungen, 35,- €, ISBN 978-3-89790-685-3, Hardcover

TSATSAS Einblick Rückblick Ausblick

Seit 2012 kreieren Esther und Dimitrios Tsatsas Ledertaschen und -accessoires, die etablierte Gestaltungsraster der Mode verlassen und mit einer ganz eigenen Formensprache überzeugen. Das Deutsche Ledermuseum nimmt das zehnjährige Bestehen zum Anlass, das international agierende, gleichwohl regional in Offenbach am Main produzierende Designerlabel in einer Ausstellung und Publikation zu präsentieren.

Publikation zur Ausstellung, 2022, hg. von Inez Florschütz, Deutsches Ledermuseum, Texte von David Chipperfield, Yoko Choy, Markus Frenzl, Dieter Rams, Esther und Dimitrios Tsatsas, deutsch/englisch, 200 S., 122 Farb- und 18 Schwarz-Weißabbildungen, 34,- €, ISBN 978-3-89790-655-6, Hardcover

STEP BY STEP: Schuh.Design im Wandel

Schuhe sind weit mehr als funktionale und modische Bekleidung des Fußes. Neben der Gestaltung verschiedener Schuhtypen über Jahrhunderte hinweg stehen sie als schützendes Kleidungsstück, Statussymbol, Fashion Item oder politisches Statement ihrer Träger*innen im Fokus der Ausstellung und des Kataloges.

Katalog zur Ausstellung, 2019, hg. von Inez Florschütz in Zusammenarbeit mit Maureen Ogrocki und Leonie Wiegand, Texte von Inez Florschütz, Katharina Lippe, Maureen Ogrocki, Stefanie Rohde und Leonie Wiegand, 288 S., 320 Farbabbildungen, 34,- €, ISBN 978-3-89790-581-8, Klappenbroschur

LEDER.WELT.GESCHICHTE.
100 JAHRE DEUTSCHES LEDERMUSEUM (1917–2017)

Der Katalog präsentiert anlässlich des 100-jährigen Bestehens Highlights der außergewöhnlichen Sammlung in ihrem kulturhistorischen Kontext und erzählt spannende Geschichten über ihre ehemaligen Besitzer*innen oder ihre Erwerbsgeschichte. Neben Texten zur Museums- und Sammlungsgeschichte enthält er darüber hinaus auch Fotografien aus dem umfangreichen Archiv sowie ein Leder-Glossar.

Katalog zur Ausstellung, 2017, hg. von Inez Florschütz, Texte von Vanessa Didion, Inez Florschütz, Andreas Hansert, Kirsten Pick, Maria Anna Tappeiner, 276 S., 120 Farb- und 149 Schwarz-Weißabbildungen, 34,- €, ISBN 978-3-7356-0391-3, Klappenbroschur

ROGER VIVIER. SchuhWERKE

Das DLM präsentiert erstmals 40 Prototypen aus den ‚wilden Jahren‘ Roger Viviers, den 1930ern, die das Lebenswerk eines Meisters illustrieren, der im Schuhdesign des 20. Jahrhunderts weltweit seine Spuren hinterlassen hat.

Katalog zur Ausstellung, 2014, hg. vom Deutschen Ledermuseum, Texte von Rosita Nenno, Christian Rathke, Inge Specht et al., deutsch/englisch, 106 S., 94 Abb., 25,- €, ISBN: 978-3-9815440-2-2, Begleitheft mit Übersetzungen der Texte (englisch/niederländisch) 5,- €

WETTLAUF MIT DER VERGÄNGLICHKEIT
(A Race against Transience)

Anhand von 20 ausgewählten Fallbeispielen berichten die Restaurator*innen des DLM von ihrer Tätigkeit und bieten interessierten Leser*innen einen spannenden Einblick hinter die Kulissen des Deutschen Ledermuseums.

Katalog zur Ausstellung, 2012, hg. vom Deutschen Ledermuseum, Texte von Nina Frankenhauser, Jutta Göpfrich, Katharina Mackert, 156 S., 135 Abb., 25,- €, ISBN: 978-3-9815440-0-8

MACHT LEDER LUST
Verborgene Codes der Lederbekleidung im 20. Jahrhundert

Der Katalog zeichnet den Weg des Leders von der Funktionsbekleidung über Kleidung als Ausdrucksmittel militärischer Macht bis hin zu einem modischen Accessoire für Rollenspiele der Gothic- und Bondage-Szene, mit einem Exkurs in die Bildwelt der Fotografie, nach.

Katalog zur Ausstellung, 2008, hg. von Rosita Nenno, Christian Rathke, Deutsches Ledermuseum, deutsch/englisch, 160 S., 150 Abb., 25,- €, ISBN: 978-30-00-024422-3

LEDERLUST. MEISTERWERKE DER ANGEWANDTEN KUNST AUS DEM DEUTSCHEN LEDERMUSEUM OFFENBACH

Der Bildband zeigt Lederarbeiten aus rund 800 Jahren – von Buchfutteralen und Minnekästchen des Mittelalters über Truhen, Prunkschilde und Goldledertapeten bis hin zu Handtaschen unserer Zeit.

Katalog zur Ausstellung, 2006, hg. vom Deutschen Ledermuseum, Texte von Rosita Nenno, Christian Rathke, 252 S., 133 Abb., 20,- €, ISBN: 978-3938025673